OFFICIAL JOURNAL

OF THE

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OF THE

STATE OF LOUISIANA

FOURTH DAY'S PROCEEDINGS

Forty-ninth Extraordinary Session of the Legislature
Under the Adoption of the
Constitution of 1974

House of Representatives State Capitol Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Saturday, June 18, 2022

The House of Representatives was called to order at 2:03 P.M., by the Honorable Clay Schexnayder, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Morning Hour

ROLL CALL

The roll being called, the following members answered to their names:

PRESENT

Mr. Speaker Adams Amedee Bacala Bagley Boyd Brass Bryant Butler Carpenter Carrier Carter, R. Carter, W. Cormier Coussan Davis Deshotel DeVillier Duplessis Echols Edmonds Edmonston Emerson Farnum Firment Fisher Fontenot Freeman	Gadberry Gaines Garofalo Geymann Glover Goudeau Green Harris Hodges Horton Hughes Huval Illg Ivey Jenkins Johnson, M. Johnson, T. Jordan Kerner LaCombe LaFleur Landry Larvadain Lyons Mack Magee Marcelle Marino	McMahen Miller, D. Miller, G. Mincey Muscarello Nelson Newell Orgeron Owen, C. Phelps Pierre Pressly Riser Romero Schamerhorn Schlegel Selders St. Blanc Stefanski Tarver Thomas Thompson Turner Villio Wheat White Willard Wright
Freiberg	McFarland	Zeringue
Frieman		Zernigue
	McKnight	
Total - 89		

The Speaker announced that there were $89\ members$ present and a quorum.

Prayer

Prayer was offered by Rep. Turner.

Pledge of Allegiance

Rep. Romero led the House in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

Reading of the Journal

On motion of Rep. Thompson, the reading of the Journal was dispensed with.

On motion of Rep. Thompson, the Journal of June 17,2022, was adopted.

Petitions, Memorials, and Communications

The following petitions, memorials, and communications were received and read:

Message from the Senate

RELATIVE TO ADJOURNMENT

July 18, 2022

To the Honorable Speaker and Members of the House of Representatives:

I am directed to inform your honorable body that the Senate has consented to adjourn sine die and asks that the House of Representatives do the same.

Respectfully submitted,

YOLANDA J. DIXON Secretary of the Senate

Motion

Rep. Stefanski moved that the House concur with the Senate and give consent to adjourn *sine die*.

Rep. Duplessis objected.

By a vote of 53 yeas and 29 nays, the House agreed to concur with the Senate and give consent to adjourn *sine die*.

Motion

On motion of Rep. Stefanski, the Speaker appointed the following special committee to notify the Senate that the House has completed its labors and is prepared to adjourn *sine die*: Reps. Coussan, Huval, Mike Johnson, Stefanski and Turner.

Reports of Special Committees

The special committee appointed to notify the Senate that the House had completed its labors and was prepared to adjourn *sine die* reported that it had performed that duty.

The Speaker thanked and discharged the committees.

Adjournment

At 2:41 P.M. Rep. Thompson moved the House adjourn *sine die*.

Page 2 HOUSE

4th Day's Proceedings - June 18, 2022

Rep Duplesis objected.

Point of Order

Rep. Willard asked for a ruling from the Chair as to what would be the vote requirement to adjourn $sine\ die$.

Ruling of the Chair

The Chair ruled the vote required a majority of the members present and voting to *sine die*.

A record vote was asked for and ordered by the House.

ROLL CALL

The roll was called with the following result:

YEAS

Mr. Speaker	Garofalo	Romero
Bacala	Huval	Schamerhorn
Carrier	Ivey	Schlegel
Coussan	Johnson, M.	St. Blanc
Davis	Kerner	Stefanski
DeVillier	Marino	Thomas
Echols	Miller, G.	Thompson
Edmonds	Mincey	Turner
Emerson	Muscarello	Villio
Farnum	Orgeron	Wheat
Firment	Owen, C.	Wright
Freiberg	Pressly	Zeringue
Gadberry	Riser	

Total - 38

NAYS

Adams	Fisher	Landry
Boyd	Freeman	Larvadain
Brass	Glover	Lyons
Brown	Green	Newell
Bryant	Hughes	Phelps
Carpenter	Jenkins	Pierre
Carter, R.	Jordan	Selders
Cormier	LaCombe	Willard
Duplessis	LaFleur	

Total - 26

ABSENT

Amedee	Gaines	McCormick
Bagley	Geymann	McFarland
Beaullieu	Goudeau	McKnight
Bishop	Harris	McMahen
Bourriaque	Hilferty	Miguez
Butler	Hodges	Miller, D.
Carter, W.	Hollis	Moore
Cox	Horton	Nelson
Crews	Illg	Owen, R.
Deshotel	Jefferson	Seabaugh
DuBuisson	Johnson, T.	Stagni
Edmonston	Mack	Tarver
Fontenot	Magee	White
Frieman	Marcelle	
Total - 41		

The House agreed to adjourn sine die.

MICHELLE D. FONTENOT Clerk of the House

ANGELA S. SMITH Assistant Clerk of the House / Journal Clerk